New board members join M State Foundation & Alumni

July 1, 2024

M State Foundation and Alumni announces the addition of five new board members for the upcoming term. The 13-member board is made up of volunteers who serve, work or live in the M State campus communities of Detroit Lakes, Moorhead and Wadena.

New board members representing the Moorhead campus are Sandra Buchholz, Sabrina Kemmer and Chloe Wessler; representing the Wadena campus is Medley Shamp, and; representing the Detroit Lakes campus is Melissa Watson. The new members’ diverse backgrounds in healthcare and marketing, along with their dedication to the mission of M State, promise to bring fresh perspectives and energy to the foundation.

They join returning board members Josh Astrup and Curt Kasper (representing Moorhead); Bob Beseman, Mike Gedde and Wally Senyk (Wadena); and Jill Brandt, Tony Stensgard and Ashley McNally (Detroit Lakes). Beseman is newly serving as board president, while Gedde is Vice President and Kemmer is Treasurer.

“We are confident their leadership will guide us toward new heights in supporting M State students and our campus communities,” says Shannon Britten, Associate Director of Advancement and Development at M State. “We also want to extend our heartfelt thanks to Shelley Finney for her exceptional service on the board. Her contributions have been invaluable, and we are grateful for her dedication and commitment to our mission.”

M State Foundation and Alumni works to provide innovative classroom resources and scholarship opportunities for students at the college’s Detroit Lakes, Moorhead and Wadena campuses.