Limited Scope Radiography

Limited Scope Radiography

Certification/Registration: The purpose of the American Registry of Radiologic Technologists (ARRT) certification and registration is to recognize individuals qualified to perform a specific role. For example, the purpose of M State's Radiography certification and registration is to recognize individuals who are qualified to perform the role of a radiographer. Certification and registration requires satisfaction of certain professional standards in medical imaging, interventional procedures or radiation therapy.

Licensure: In some states, a state license must be obtained before you can work as a radiologic technologist. That differs from ARRT certification and registration. If you want to become certified and registered with ARRT, you must meet ARRT requirements and apply to ARRT. If you want to obtain a state license, you must meet the individual state’s requirements and apply directly to that state. More than 75 percent of states have licensing laws covering the practice of radiologic technology. In those states, you must obtain a state license before you can work as a radiologic technologist. In addition, many states use ARRT exam scores and/or credentials when making licensing decisions. In other words, some - but not all - states require you to be certified and registered through ARRT before you can obtain a state license. Keep in mind that earning an ARRT credential doesn’t necessarily mean you’re eligible to work in a particular state. You’ll need to meet that state’s requirements.

State State Licensing Board or Department State Licensing Requirements Notes
Alabama   Not determined  
Alaska   Not determined  
American Samoa   Not determined  
Arizona   Not determined  
Arkansas   Not determined  
California   Not determined  
Colorado Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment Not determined  
Connecticut   Not determined  
Delaware   Not determined  
District of Columbia   Not determined  
Florida   Not determined  
Georgia   Not determined  
Guam   Not determined  
Hawaii   Not determined  
Idaho   Not determined  
Illinois   Not determined  
Indiana   Not determined  
Iowa   Not determined  
Kansas   Not determined  
Kentucky   Not determined  
Louisiana   Not determined  
Maine   Not determined  
Maryland   Not determined  
Massachusetts   Not determined  
Michigan   Not determined  
Minnesota Minnesota Department of Health Meets

The ARRT limited scope radiography exam must be completed for certification/registration. M State meets the current requirements and the proposed rule changes. (Proposed rule changes are on hold due to COVID but are intended to go into effect in 2021. Licensure is currently not required in Minnesota, just certification by the ARRT (see certification and licensure explanations for the program above).

Mississippi   Not determined  
Missouri   Not determined  
Montana   Not determined  
Nebraska   Not determined  
Nevada   Not determined  
New Hampshire   Not determined  
New Jersey   Not determined  
New Mexico   Not determined  
New York   Not determined  
North Carolina   Not determined  
North Dakota North Dakota Imaging and Radiation Therapy Board Meets The ARRT State Licensing Exam is required in North Dakota. ATTENTION: Taking the ARRT state exam limits the applicant to practice within North Dakota and does not qualify the applicant to hold the ARRT national certification. The NDMIRTB State Licensing Examination may not transfer to other states. The North Dakota Medical Imaging and Radiation Therapy Board (NDMIRTB) has a contract with the American Registry of Radiologic Technologists (ARRT) to administer the ARRT Examination to individuals who meet the minimum standards detailed on the ARRT for State licensing. M State's LSR program meets the requirements of the state of North Dakota and the program is listed on the NDMIRT website.
Northern Mariana Islands   Not determined  
Ohio   Not determined  
Oklahoma   Not determined  
Oregon   Not determined  
Pennsylvania   Not determined  
Puerto Rico   Not determined  
Rhode Island   Not determined  
South Carolina   Not determined  
South Dakota   Not determined  
Tennessee   Not determined  
Texas   Not determined  
US Virgin Islands   Not determined  
Utah   Not determined  
Vermont   Not determined  
Virginia   Not determined  
Washington   Not determined  
West Virginia   Not determined  
Wisconsin   Not determined  
Wyoming   Not determined  

Disclaimer: The college makes every effort to ensure the information above is current, but please be advised that state laws, regulations and policies may change at any time. It is the responsibility of the student completing the licensure program to check with the licensing board(s) in their state of residence or in the state in which they intend to obtain a license for the most recent information and requirements. M State shall not be held liable if a student is unable to qualify for licensure or certification in any jurisdiction or cannot obtain a practicum/internship location.

Page last updated on June 10, 2021 9:16 am