Attention: In response to COVID-19, the majority of M State classes will finish via D2L. Please refer to the “notes” section in the details column on your schedule in eServices for additional details regarding your classes and continue to check your M State email for updates.
Registration cancellation for non-payment
All Minnesota State colleges and universities are required by policy to cancel all registered courses for students who have not met the payment requirements by the tuition and fee due date. Please read the Registration Cancellation for Non-Payment Policy for payment definitions.
Non-attendance does not terminate your registration records or excuse payment obligations. Please ensure registration records accurately reflect your attendance plans. If you are not planning on remaining enrolled in courses you have registered for it is your responsibility to drop those courses.
100 percent Refund Drop Period
- For courses starting the first week of the semester, students must drop a class during the first five instructional days of a semester to avoid being billed for the course.
- For courses starting after the fifth instructional day of the term, or those less than three weeks in length, students have one business day after the first class session to drop the class to receive a 100 percent refund of tuition. (Example: If the course starts on a Monday, the student would have until 11:59 pm on Tuesday to drop the course.)
Withdrawing from college
Official withdrawal is defined as terminating enrollment in ALL registered courses for an academic semester. Students who no longer wish to be enrolled must drop their courses via the online registration process and officially withdraw from M State for accurate determination of their financial obligation to the school and to receive a percentage refund/credit in accordance with the schedule below:
Fall and Spring SemestersDate of Withdrawal -- Refund Allowed6th through 10th day of the term -- 75 percent refund
11th through the 15th day of the term -- 50 percent refund
16th through the 20th day of the term -- 25 percent refund
21st day and after -- No refund allowed
Summer Sessions & Other Terms at Least 3 Weeks in Length but Less Than 10 Weeks in LengthDate of Withdrawal -- Refund Allowed6th through the 10th day of the term -- 50 percent refund
11th day and after -- No refund allowed
For students who have received financial aid or a portion of the aid that was disbursed to the student or their account may be required to be repaid.
Refunds/credits of tuition and fees for withdrawal are based on Minnesota State's refund policy.
Tuition reciprocity agreements exist between Minnesota and the states of North Dakota, South Dakota, Wisconsin, Michigan, Missouri and Nebraska. Residents of these states and the province of Manitoba are permitted to pay tuition at a rate below the nonresident rate. Reciprocity application forms are available from high school counselors, the campus student services office or on our website under Forms and Links.
If a third-party agency is providing payment on behalf of a student for the cost of his/her college charges for tuition, fees, textbooks, etc., a written authorization must be provided to M State before the payment due date of each term. Authorizations (vouchers) should be mailed or faxed to:
M StateCentral Accounts Receivable1900 28th Ave. S.Moorhead, MN 56560Phone: 218-299-6509Fax: 218-291-4226
The third-party authorization is recorded on the student's account, and the college invoices the third party agency. If the third party agency notifies the college that the authorization has been cancelled, the student then becomes financially liable for the charges on his/her account. Funding from third-party agencies is considered financial assistance to the student. Therefore, the authorization amount is included in the student's overall financial aid award package.
Examples of organizations that fund students who attend our college are:
- Veteran's Educational Benefits
- Vocational Rehabilitation Services
- Job Service ND
- Worker's Compensation
- Rural Minnesota CEP
For more information, contact the appropriate agency directly.
M State procedures and guidelines for collection activity are in accordance with Minnesota State policy. A structured timetable for collection activities includes the following:
- Students who have not paid their current semester accounts in full will receive a letter 20 days prior the end of the semester notifying them that, if the account is not paid in full within 20 days, their account will be turned over the Minnesota Department of Revenue, Collection Division.
- Approximately 30 days after the collection letters are sent, M State will refer delinquent student accounts to the Minnesota Department of Revenue, Collection Division.
- Students who have been turned over to collection will have a hold on their account and will not be able to register or return to classes without making payment in full.
Students who have been referred to Minnesota Department of Revenue, Collection Division, can contact a revenue collection officer regarding their accounts:
Telephone: 651.556.3003 (press 5)