M State student awards and recognition

2021 Student Leadership and Social Impact Awards

Sixteen outstanding students and student organizations were recognized April 8 during the virtual college-wide Student Leadership and Social Impact Awards Ceremony. The awards were sponsored by the Office of the Dean of Students, with nominations submitted by M State faculty and staff.

The awards and student recipients are:

  • Outstanding Student Employee: Travis Berg and Joseph Kimbrough
    • Recognizes a student who has gone beyond in their commitment and fulfillment of the duties associated with their on-campus employment. Nominees must have a minimum 2.0 cumulative GPA.
  • Spartan Spirit Award: Suham Ali, Sam Mukanya Mukengeshayi and Spartan Athletics
    • Recognizes the impact students have on the M State community. This student promotes M State at the college and in the community. Nominees must have a minimum 2.0 cumulative GPA.
  • Perseverance: Jacob Seebold, Brandi Ochoa, Elizabeth Meier, Christopher Almendarez and Ryan Countryman
    • Recognizes a student who shows outstanding commitment to their education while overcoming personal, health or societal barriers. This award recognizes courage and determination in the face of adversity.
  • Emerging Leader: Elliot Duggan and Jessica Castillo
    • Presented to a first-year student who has contributed to the M State community through their involvement in a campus organization, athletic team, residential community or community service program. The nominee must also show significant potential for continued leadership and civic engagement. Nominees must have a minimum 2.0 cumulative GPA.
  • Vice President’s Community Leadership/Impact/Social Justice: Melody Staebner
    • Recognizes an individual student, student organization or initiative whose engagement in the community is especially impactful. The student(s) selected to receive this award will have demonstrated the highest standards of professional and ethical conduct and address social justice issues when negotiating engagement in the community. Nominees must have a minimum 2.0 cumulative GPA.
  • President’s Leadership Award: Kaitlyn Blake, Martin Hayes and Tyler Willis
    • Honors the best of student leadership at M State. Qualities include strong leadership skills, impact on the campus community and involvement in a variety of organizations and activities both on and off campus. Nominees must have a minimum 2.0 cumulative GPA.

Congratulations to these M State students!

Seven M State students awarded Live Your Dream scholarships

Amanda Schermerhorn named Student Leader of the Year by LeadMN

M State students named to 2020-21 All-Minnesota Academic Team

Staebner receives Civic Fellow, World Citizen Awards

Rudolph, Walker awarded 2021 Ashley Perrine Scholarship

Graphic Design student Michael Brunette wins silver award in design competition