Twenty-three seniors awarded Workforce Scholarships

March 30, 2018
Twenty-three area high school seniors have been awarded Workforce Development Scholarships in the first year of a pilot program that encourages students to enroll in Minnesota State Community and Technical College programs that prepare them for careers in high-demand fields. The 23 are all students in M State Partner High Schools, a group of 16 area school districts that are partnering with M State to strengthen the college preparedness of their graduates. M State launched the Partner High Schools program in 2017. The Workforce Development Scholarships, each a minimum of $2,500, were created by the 2017 Legislature. M State’s awards target students enrolling in programs related to advanced manufacturing (nine scholarships), agriculture (one scholarship), health care services (10 scholarships) and information technology (three scholarships). In addition to funding from the Legislature, additional financial support for Workforce Development Scholarships was contributed by Fergus Area College Foundation, Heritage Homes, Mike and Dianne Fillmore, Swanston Equipment, Foltz Trucking, Lyle’s Shoes, M State President Peggy Kennedy, National Electrical Contractors Association and Minnesota Precision Manufacturing Association. Dr. Peter Wielinski, vice president of student development and marketing at M State, called the Workforce Development Scholarships a “win-win partnership” for the college and its high school partners. “We’re proud of the partnerships we and our foundations have formed with our regional high schools,” Wielinski said. “In distributing the Workforce Development Scholarships made possible by our state legislators, we address financial barriers to education and gainful employment. This benefits our regional economy and provides business and industry with the well-trained workers they need to succeed.” Scholarship recipients by school district, their program and M State campus are: Detroit Lakes Maddie Hibma, Nursing, Detroit Lakes campus Naomi Hibma, Nursing, Detroit Lakes campus Nichole Melby, Nursing, Detroit Lakes campus Adam Prindle, Information Technology, Detroit Lakes campus Dilworth-Glyndon-Felton Alyssa Landsem, Information Technology, Moorhead campus Noah McDonald, Dental Hygiene, Moorhead campus Seth Tuders, Information Technology, Moorhead campus Fergus Falls Ellie Swenson, Nursing, Moorhead campus Ryan Wilson, Electrical Line Worker Technology, Wadena campus Frazee-Vergas Caleb Irish, Electrical Technology, Wadena campus Darcy Mortenson, Nursing, Detroit Lakes campus Hawley Preston Burnside, Diesel Technology, Moorhead campus Kate Lundquist, Nursing, Detroit Lakes campus Sophia Neubauer, Nursing, Moorhead campus Lake Park Audubon Garret Frank, Heating, Ventilation and Air Conditioning, Moorhead campus Amy Lundstrom, PowerSports Technology, Detroit Lakes campus Moorhead Sarah Dahl, Nursing, Moorhead campus Zane Stahlecker, Architectural Drafting and Design, Detroit Lakes campus New York Mills Kody Knickrehm, Heating, Ventilation and Air Conditioning, Wadena campus Pelican Rapids Najima Ahmed, Nursing, Fergus Falls campus Perham Rylee Lindquist, Equine Science, Fergus Falls campus Aaron Wegscheid, Electrical Line Worker Technology, Wadena campus Wadena-Deer Creek Andrew Sundby, Heating, Ventilation and Air Conditioning, Wadena campus