Line worker students win second at College Powerline Rodeo

Four teams of Electrical Line Worker Technology students from Minnesota State Community and Technical College won second place overall at the recent national 2017 College Powerline Rodeo.

The competition, held April 6-7 on the Western Nebraska Community College campuses in Scottsbluff and Alliance, featured 35 college teams competing in three physical events and a written exam that tested the students’ industry skills.

Winning first place in the hurt man team competition and second place in the written exam was the M State team of Noah Haaland of Monticello, Kyle Krueger of Big Lake and Ryan Filek of Maple Lake, along with alternate Walker Landa of Bemidji.

M State’s Joshua Hofmann of Fort Ripley won second place in the individual hurt man rescue competition.

Also competing for M State were Ethan Orlando of Verndale; Tanen Holzem of Elk River; Ian Willborg of Blackduck; Dustin Sepin of Boy River; Matthew Roberts of Becida; Daniel Grebinoski of St. Joseph; Cole Mertens of Olivia; and William Nelson of Bemidji.

M State offers its Electrical Line Worker Technology program on its Wadena campus and at its training site in the northern Minnesota community of Baudette. This was the first time students in the program have participated in the national competition.

Posted in News on April 11, 2017 at 2:38 pm