MnSCU changes system name to Minnesota State

The Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system has given itself a new nickname: Minnesota State.

The board of trustees for the system formerly known as MnSCU approved the change this week, and it will go into effect in July. None of the system’s 37 colleges and universities — including Minnesota State Community and Technical College — will be required to change their names.

“Minnesota State should be known and understood as a system of colleges and universities united to provide an extraordinary education that is affordable and accessible, enhancing quality of life, and ensuring prosperous communities,” said Minnesota State Chancellor Steven Rosenstone in a news release. “More clearly communicating this will help prospective students and the communities we serve to better understand the tremendous value our colleges and universities deliver.”


Posted in News on June 22, 2016 at 3:00 pm