M State Foundation and Alumni

You are in the Foundation section


Welcome to M State Foundation and Alumni

Minnesota State Community and Technical College created M State Foundation and Alumni to unify three separate foundations - Detroit Lakes Area College Foundation, Moorhead Community and Technical College Foundation and Wadena Area College Foundation - into a single foundation that will better serve the college and enhance alumni engagement. The merger was effective July 1, 2017

The new foundation will enable M State to face extraordinary challenges in coming years, align missions, and implement best practices in fund development program methodologies. The new unified, comprehensive organization will better serve the College for generations.

  • Providing accessible and quality education through scholarship
    opportunities for students
  • Providing innovative and state-of-the-art classroom resources
    that allow hands-on learning experiences
  • Supporting economic and community progress

Your gifts allow you to leave a lasting legacy while you help enhance the education we provide at M State.


M State Foundation and Alumni News

In order to keep all of our donors and alumni current with what's going on at M State Foundation and Alumni, we publish a monthly on-line newsletter called the Profile. For your convenience, we have archived our past newsletters. You must have Acrobat Reader to view the pdf files.

March 2018 - Profile

February 2018 - Profile

January 2018 - Profile

December 2017 - Profile

November 2017 - Profile

October 2017 - Profile

September 2017 - Profile


Meet the Board - M State Foundation and Alumni

One Board of Directors made up of community members representing the Wadena, Detroit Lakes and Moorhead campuses will serve the combined Foundation. Three Advisory Boards, each representing a campus, will support board members in their work.

Foundation Staff:

Denise Laymon - Chief Development and Alumni Officer
218.846.3720 - denise.laymon@minnesota.edu

Ann Olson - Foundation Associate
218.631.7819 - ann.olson@minnesota.edu


Terinne Berg - President

Benefits Case Manager

Premier Benefits Group - Fargo, ND


Nick Leonard - Vice President

Director of Tourism and Economic Development

Otter Tail County


Ron Mueller - Treasurer


Bremer Bank - Detroit Lakes


Shelley Finney - Secretary

Retired Accountant


Laura Boreen - Director

Director of Human Resources

Ecumen - Detroit Lakes


Chad Coauette - Director

Executive Director/CEO

National Joint Powers Alliance - Staples, MN


David Fjeldheim - Director


Sebeka School District


Curt Kasper - Director

Assistant Executive Director and Career Development Manager

Dakota's Chapter of the National Electrical Contractors Association


Ashley McNally - Director

Director of House and Home Care

Knute Nelson - Pelican Rapids


Chad Miller - Director


Krekelberg Law Firm


Kenny Useldinger - Director


RDO Truck Centers


M State Foundation Forms and Policies


Check Us Out On Social Media!

Students and Alum are the reason we are here. It is with great honor that we celebrate all accomplishments of all future, current and past students.

Check us out on Social Media to stay in touch!





Last modified: October 5th, 2017 at 03:01pm