About Contact us Directory A-Z Index Help
 

Minnesota Board of Cosmetology Continuing Education 4-hour Renewal Course

Beginning August 1, 2014, all operators and salon managers wishing to renew their license as active, or to reactivate an inactive license with the Minnesota Board of Cosmetology will need to complete a 4-hour continuing education course. This course is in addition to the current work hours or refresher courses previously required. The M State Cosmetology Department has developed a course to meet the course requirements set forth by the MN Board of Cosmetology.

Course requirements: 3 credit hours must pertain to health, safety, and sanitation; and 1 credit hour on laws and rules.

Upon completion of this course, the participant will receive a certificate of completion. M State does not report completion dates, or provide a certificate of completion to the MN Board of Cosmetology. It is up to the individual to submit a copy of their certificate when submitting their renewal application.

Attendance is mandatory for this course.

In-person training is held via ITV, an interactive training experience. The instructors are on the Wadena campus, and broadcasted on TV screens to the other campuses simultaneously. The instructor can interact with those individuals at other locations; and all can actively participate as if they are in the same room as the instructor It's a great option for those that live in an M State community, as well as allow for flexibility and convenience to not have to travel great distances to receive training.

Pre-registration is required. The attendee registers for the location of their choice based on availability.

Classes are offered on each of our M State campuses for all dates/times listed below:

  • Detroit Lakes , 900 Highway 34 E
  • Fergus Falls, 1414 College Way
  • Moorhead, 1900 28th Avenue S
  • Wadena, 405 Colfax Avenue SW

In-person class schedule:

  • Monday, October 6, 2014 from 3pm-7pm
  • Monday, December 1, 2014 from 3pm - 7pm
  • Monday, February 2, 2015 from 3pm - 7pm
  • Monday, April 6, 2015 from 3pm - 7pm
  • Monday, June 1, 2015 from 3pm - 7pm

We are pleased to announce the option to take this course online! The online option gives the participant the opportunity to work at their own pace for one week to complete the course materials. Upon completion of course material, a certificate will be mailed to the individual.

Online sessions:

  • November 3-10, 2014
  • January 12-19, 2015
  • March 2-9, 2015
  • May 1-8, 2015

To register for either the in-person sessions or online classes, go to http://minnesota.augusoft.net or contact:

Melissa Olheiser
Direct Line: (218)299-6566 or
(800)426-5603 ext 6566
Office Hours: Monday - Friday, 8:30 am - 2:30 pm

M State is a participating educational institution, providing this training opportunity to professionals across the state. M State is not affiliated with the MN Board of Cosmetology. M State did not enact this law, sit in on the Board to pass the law, or have any connection as to how the law was written.

Last modified: August 29th, 2014 at 01:41pm